Mount Alexander Shire Council and program partners, The Midland Express/Castlemaine Mail, are pleased to announce the members of the independent judging panel.

The judges are:

Lisa Rundell,
Founder and Director, Lost Trades Fair and Tomahawk Marketing + PR

Paul Henderson,
Regional Manager – Northern Victoria, AusIndustry

Gavin Coffey,
retired CEO, Bolwell Corporation Australia Pty Ltd

Daniel Bone,
Chair of Business Mount Alexander and lead consultant at xBrain

Mark Coffey,
Allawah Bendigo and Wine Bank on View

Kate Gamble,
President of Maldon Inc. and owner of The Shopkeepers Quarters and The Miner’s Pride

Rebecca Pedretti,
Coordinator Economic Development, Hepburn Shire Council

Genevieve Wearne,
Owner, The Flop House

Lorraine le Plastrier,
Mount Alexander Shire Disability Advocacy Group (MASDAG)

Paul Gianni,
Mount Alexander Shire Disability Advocacy Group (MASDAG)


“The number and quality of submissions has been excellent and we are now pleased to announce the experts on our judging panel,” said David Leathem, Manager, Economy and Culture, Mount Alexander Shire Council.

“Our panel bring strong expertise and business acumen from a variety of fields, and are committed to ensuring a strong and robust judging process,” he said.

The judges have reviewed the entries in each category to develop a shortlist of the most outstanding businesses in the eight award categories.

The judges then visited the workplace of shortlisted businesses to build on the detail in the award entry.

The finalists and winners in each category will be announced at a gala event on Thursday 5 December.  Bookings can be made at

Category winners will also be in the running for the coveted Business of the Year award and $2,000 prize money.

“Council and our program partners wish all businesses that entered the best of luck,” said Mr Leathem. For more information visit

The awards are run in partnership with the Midland Express/Castlemaine Mail, and are proudly supported by Business Mount Alexander, Good Earth Garden Supplies, Maldon Inc., Maldon & District Community Bank, Small Business Victoria and Workspace Australia.